Weekend Wrap

This past weekend was nothing short of magical, despite having a severe cold! My person got married, and we spent a weekend out in the beautifully autumnal winelands on a much needed mini ‘holiday’ of sorts.

I had the honour of being bridesmaid to one of my favourite people in the whole world – my Lorzi – as she married Emlyn at Hidden Valley Wines on Saturday, 30 April. The sky cleared and the day was crisp and full of sunshine, despite a snow-chill in the air. We stayed at Soverby Guest House in Stellenbosch on Friday night, and spent the whole of Saturday morning and early afternoon being pampered and taking photos. Bethi did our make-up, which we absolutely loved, and it was hard not to cry when my bestie emerged in her gorgeous gown, looking like the most beautiful bride on earth, and my other bestie Kim held back tears beside me as another bridesmaid.imageWalking down the aisle was a joy as I saw all my favourite people in the crowd, and the wedding itself was amazing – from the food to the effortlessly elegant decor. Tom and I broke it down on the dance floor, and I got to spend some much needed time with my girls – especially Em and Tazz who had flown in from Aus, Jozi and London town especially. It was a night jam-packed with love and one I will always remember. Congratulations Lorz and Em – enjoy your honeymoon guys!imageimageOn Sunday, Tom and I were quite sick with sneezes and wheezes from our exuberance on the dance floor the night before, so we spent a chilled afternoon sampling delectable food at the Cheese Festival (which we look forward to every year – the VIP area is the best!), and then we had supper with the lovely Gen and Mark.

Monday was a public holiday so we woke up late and then moseyed over to Glen Carlou for my Genni’s birthday lunch. It was such a special afternoon – I was reunited with Leah, Linda and Jenny who I adore, and I had more quality time with one of my dearest friends. Lunch was seriously delicious – think goats cheese bavarois, pork belly and autumn-inspired Eton mess – and the view at the estate is simply breath-taking. I’m aware this post is packed with adjectives (Hedley, my once-upon-a-time creative writing supervisor, would have been appalled) but I’m just trying to convey the fact that it was a very good weekend indeed! imageimageProcessed with VSCOcam with b5 presetimageimageWe drove home and I’ve spent the rest of the week in bed feeling awful, but it was worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

