Valentine’s Weekend Wrap

We had such a lovely weekend, in part due to a snail, and also because of a man named after my favourite pasta dish.

On Saturday, we drove out to Mfuleni to help my parents paint the walls of the new school they’ve just built there with Starting Chance, their charity trust. Tom and his little army of willing assistants painted the walls, while I got started on the playground snail (my mum says it’s a caterpillar, but it’s distinctly snail-like). I got such a full heart watching Tom with the kids – they were so sweet and willing to help, constantly asking for goggles and brushes to look the part. It was a really wonderful morning and good to do something community-focused for a change.imageimageWe then drove across to Franschhoek, to the Rev Up for Rose festival at Rickety Bridge. I had comps for the event so we happily sampled some of the pretty pink drinks and chatted to the suppliers for a while. One of the people we spoke to was a lovely man called Alfredo, who was extremely generous with his pouring and his tips for where to buy cheap(er) bubbles. He told us to go down the road to Haute Cabriere, where he works, and mention his name to the staff there. So that’s exactly what we did…imageWe popped across to the beautiful estate and settled ourselves on one of the benches after having told everyone in sight that Alfredo sent us (we were not 100% sober at this point). We found a half-finished bottle of Pierre Jourdan on the table, which Tom obviously refused to let go to waste, and from that moment on, our glasses were never empty. The lovely staff and managers kept topping up our Champagne flutes with the most delicious bubbles, and we ordered lunch as well – I had the perfectly cooked fillet, and Tom had the pork. We must have had at least five glasses of Pierre Jourdan Belle Rose each, not a single one of which was reflected on our bill! Thank you so much to Alfredo and the lovely people at Haute Cabriere – you made our Valentine’s extra special and gave us some great memories we won’t forget in a hurry. I bought a bottle of the Belle Rose to keep for a special occasion – I know we’re going to enjoy drinking it one day, and we’ll think of Alfredo when we do.

imageimageProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 presetSunday morning was spent with my girls at Mich’s gorgeous home. We ate far too much, chatted, laughed and had the best time – as we do every Valentine’s day, because friendship is the most incredible kind of love, and I adore my friends with all my heart.

I then popped home to celebrate with my love, and we went for lunch at Beleza – one of our favourite spots in Tamboerskloof. The afternoon was spent reading our books, and then I made Tom’s favourite risotto for dinner. We did all the small things we enjoy doing together and it was perfect.

I hope you all had a beautiful, restful, love-filled weekend as well. xxx

 

Leave a Reply

