Christmas Spoils

Christmas is my favourite time of the year – I’m a self-confessed festive season freak and I fully embrace my five year-old self’s starry-eyed wonderment. I also still make Santa (Aka my parents) fill my stocking, despite being 26 hehe.

This year was a bit of a tough one as we all couldn’t stop thinking of two people who should have been with us. Gramps and Trish might not have been there physically, but they were everywhere in spirit; and it was with joy and sadness that we proudly displayed our darling Trishy’s handmade sheep from last year, which shall hence forth always be a treasured part of our Christmas decorations and a reminder of the beautiful soul who made them.

As usual my mum collected a huge gathering of extended family for our Christmas eve celebrations, and 24 of us sat down to the normal traditional British feast with turkey and all the trimmings. A heated game of Chinese Christmas followed, which got as competitive as it does every year.

Christmas day morning was spent opening presents in bed with my family before going to church, and then dashing (like Rudolph, if reindeers were bad drivers) to Plumstead for another roast with Tom’s family. We had a lovely time opening presents and playing Monopoly, before finally heading home to open yet more gifts with Steve and Sineade. It was an absolutely wonderful few days and it made me realise, as I do so often, how very blessed I am.

I was very spoilt this year with many beautiful gifts. It was the year of art supplies and sketchbooks – I no longer have any excuse not to draw! Here are a few of the gorgeous things I received.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThis scarf and perfume bottle came from Tom’s lovely parents who already know me so well. Anna couldn’t have chosen better – the scarf is my favourite colour, and the bottle reminds me of my gran, and will be a perfect addition to my already extensive collection.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetEd and Vix gave me the Lulu and Marula bath oil I’ve been dying to try, my mum gave me the vanilla Body Shop spray, Tom bought me the DKNY perfume (yes, he’s the best), and Anna and Nigel gave me the bottle and soap.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetTom gave me this Secret Garden colouring book, and I received another pretty one from my dad. I also got countless sketch books, art pencils and other supplies, so I’d best start sketching.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetTom also made all of my 13 year-old self’s fantasies come true with these AMAZING 80’s glam sharpies! Seriously, they’re  all I’ve ever wanted, and they have funky names like banana yellow. Just look at them, aren’t they the prettiest things you’ve ever seen?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetDave got me this stunning geometric candle holder from NAP – am completely in love with it. It fulfills all my minimalist Scandinavian design dreams and looks so pretty on my desk.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThis necklace is from my clever Secret Santa (thanks Sineade), and I love it! The earrings are from my amazing parents, who remembered I’ve been coveting them from Dear Rae for the last year. I’m besotted with them and have yet to take them out my ears.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetLastly, merry Christmas to me love me. Yes, I indulged in a bit of retail therapy and splashed out on these pretties from Jane Sews. I’ve been eyeing them for ages, and they’re even nicer in real life than they are in the picture! Also, note the packaging – swoon.

So now I can’t stop looking at all my lovely things and wishing we could have Christmas all over again. Thanks to everyone who made it so special – I love you all so very much. x

Leave a Reply

