Weekend Wrap

It was my little brother’s birthday weekend so we did lots of things to celebrate, because he’s awesome and deserves all the love and spoils! When I say little – he’s actually 23 and 6-foot-something and he definitely looks like the older sibling, much to my chagrin. I adore him, so it was really lovely to hang out with him and my family in various pretty places.

imageThe weekend started with dinner, drinks and sombreros at Dave and my favourite restaurant  – San Julian. Taking Mexican to the next level, this authentic little spot has the best tacos in the city and its pulled pork is absolutely scrumptious. I made Dave wear a sombrero three times the size of his head, and there was much margarita which only added to the merriment of the night.

San Julian

Saturday was spent at the beautiful La Motte wine estate in Franschhoek. I’d never been here before, but I think it’s definitely one I’d like to return to. The expansive grounds are fringed with roses and lavender, with a backdrop of smudged purple-grey mountains framing the delicate vines. As you meander up the driveway, there’s a gorgeous statue of the Lady of La Motte (as I christened her – it seemed appropriate). She stands tall and proud in front of the mountains, and her cup over-floweth with joy and blessings. The estate’s restaurant is called a La Pierneef after the famous South African artist – his photographs and linographs line the walls creating a striking and elegant decor scheme. The interior is rather grand, with contemporary furnishings and chandeliers made of suspended old crockery. The food is delicious and the presentation is superb, with playful plating and striking colours.

La Motte

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

La Motte

image

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Sunday was spent bridesmaid dress shopping with my Lorz, which was exciting and quite fruitful – I think we found a few very pretty options. And then Dave’s three-day birthday extravaganza ended with a braai at our house in Hout Bay, with his friends and the most delicious slow-cooked lamb pita breads. My brother has become a better cook than I am, which I am not altogether thrilled about.

So another weekend has drifted by and Christmas is on its way. This coming weekend, Tom and I are escaping to McGregor for a little pre-Christmas getaway. I can’t wait – it will be so lovely to run away for a little while.

 

Leave a Reply

