March/ April reads

I’m playing catch up a little bit here, so I won’t go into long in-depth reviews, but here’s my take on a few books I read in March and the beginning of April:

Past Imperfect by Julian Fellowes: More of a forgettable rant about the pretentiousness and superficial games of British aristocracy than anything else. Oh Julian, you disappointed me with this one, but I remain a devoted fan of Downton.

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves: Read it, it’s good. Clever, twisty, pithy, insightful and thought-provoking. What would you do if you were raised side by side with a primate sister? Are we really so different? A fascinating look into the impact of the psychological fad that swept America with apes being raised in ‘normal’ homes in order for developmental comparisons to be conducted alongside human infants of the same age.

Leaving Before the Rains: This one was a bit sentimental for me because it bought back memories of our farms in Zimbabwe. It’s the story of a woman who is raised in Zambia and Zimbabwe with her kooky family of hard-core, hard-drinking pioneers, and the slow unravelling of her relationship with her American husband. I liked it. It was simple, a bit sad, and ultimately quite¬†uplifting.

Yes Please: Amy Poehler’s biography was, as anticipated, a joyful, quirky, easy read. She’s strong, sassy and smart, and her reflections are courageous, interesting, poignant and encouraging. She’s a bossy, funny, clever woman with a lot of worthwhile things to say.

I’m currently reading¬†My Age of Anxiety by Scott Stossel, but Tom just hijacked it from me so I’ll have to steal it back. Living with an anxiety disorder myself I’m quite interested in what he’s going to have to say. Happy reading bookworms, let me know if there are others I should add to my list of must-reads!

Leave a Reply

