Devilishly delicious double choc chip cookies for Valentine’s Day

Valentines Day cookies

I bought Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food the other day and I’ve been dying to test out these babies ever since! I was almost embarrassed (almost) when I bought the ingredients for Jamie’s double choc malt cookies because my basket consisted entirely of Lindt dark and white chocolate deliciousness, Whispers (because I couldn’t find Malteasers), condense milk and other such naughty delights. It’s the sheer naughtiness and decadence of these that makes them absolutely perfect Valentine’s Day treats, and I think I might make them again for Tom if he’s lucky!

My bestie Vix helped me make them and we were super happy with how simple the recipe was and how well they turned out! Here’s how you make them (courtesy of Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food):

Valentines Day cookies

Ingredients:

  • 50 g unsalted butter

  • 200 g quality dark chocolate (70%)

  • 1 x 396 g tin of condensed milk

  • 25 g ground almonds

  • 2 heaped teaspoons Horlicks

  • 200 g self-raising flour

  • 100 g Malteasers (I used Whispers which worked perfectly!)

  • 50 g quality white chocolate

Method:

Melt the butter and chocolate in a pan on a low heat until smooth and combined, stirring occasionally.

Remove from the heat and stir in the condensed milk, followed by the almonds and Horlicks. Sift in the flour and a pinch of sea salt, mix together, then chill in the fridge for 20 to 30 minutes (no longer). Once cool, but still pliable, smash up the Malteasers and roughly chop the white chocolate, then mix it all together. (Try not to eat all the Malteasers/ Whispers before you add them to the mix!)

Chocolate
Preheat the oven to 170°C/325°F/gas 3. Divide the mixture into 24 equal-sized balls and place on a couple of large baking trays lined with greaseproof paper. Flatten each a little then bake for around 12 minutes, or until chewy in the middle and firm at the edges. Leave to sit in the tray for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Vix and I drizzled the remaining white chocolate on top for extra dramatic effect. Jamie also recommends using them to make ice cream sandwiches which I think is rather an inspired idea.

All in all I would definitely make these again and I really do think they’re perfect treats for the special person in your life.
Valentines Day cookies

Leave a Reply

