Too much to see and do

image1 (3)

There’s so much going on in this beautiful city at the moment: I have a super long must-see list and just not enough time to do it all! This month’s sprinting by so I’ve decided to make a list (I do love lists) of the things I want to do most.

Restaurant I want to dine at:

Beluga Restaurant

This summer tasting menu by Beluga looks sublime! I really love and appreciate food – I like eating at places that consider plating an art and eating a sensory experience. Beluga is one such spot, and their new menu boasts delights such as mushroom gnocchi with a truffle emulsion, sous vide chicken with ponzu sauce, a selection of dumplings, and white chocolate beignets with vanilla bean ice cream. Is anyone else’s mouth watering?

Art exhibition I want to see:

Salon91 Sarah Pratt Dog Days Art Exhibition

I’ve read such excellent reviews of Dog Days – a solo exhibition by Sarah Pratt at Salon91 gallery. Having lost her dog, Laptop, Sarah explores the ideas of nostalgia, grief and remembering in a playful and magical way, influenced also by C.S. Lewis’s ‘The Magician’s Nephew’. ‘The artist’s work alludes to her imagined existence of a strange, green in-between place where her deceased dog now resides.’ Having lost my own beautiful and faithful fluff-face, Ruff, fairly recently, this is exactly how I want to think of him existing now.

Bar I want to drink at:

Mother's Ruin Gin Bar

Everyone’s talking about the brand new, very cool concept gin bar that’s just opened on Bree Street. Mother’s Ruin Gin Bar is the pride and joy of Rob and Mark Mulholland and catches on to the current international trend in a quirky and uniquely South African way. I’ve only recently got into gin and tonics, but this little bar seems like the natural next step in my current infatuation. With over 60 types of gin available, multiple different types of tonic and some tasty twists, this is high up on my list of places to go. Also, don’t you just love the name?

Photography Exhibition I want to peruse:

2014 Wildlife Photographer of the Year

The 2014 Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition is on at the Iziko South African Museum until the 5th March 2015. I go to this every year, but haven’t yet had a chance to see the 2014 winners. I think I’ll wait until Cape Town’s first Museum Night and make a night of it. I can’t wait – every year this exhibition just gets better and more inspiring. My mind is consistently blown by the quality, composition and daring of the world’s best photographers, and I’m expecting the 50th anniversary edition to be spectacular.

Have you been to any of these places and events? Have I left out any other cool things happening in the Mother City at the moment?

Leave a Reply

